---
title: "Managing Planner Access in NetworkConnect and SiteConnect"
canonical: "https://docs.rubiconwater.com/space/UMNC/2659287156/Managing%20Planner%20Access%20in%20NetworkConnect%20and%20SiteConnect"
format: markdown
---
> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ - Users with the PLANNER role for a specific area or group can view and manage orders for sites in that area or group. This is true for all applications.
> ℹ️ - In DMS, users with the PLANNER role at the *system* level will have access to view sites and orders in any area or group. This does NOT work in SiteConnect and NetworkConnect where roles are not applied at the system level.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ If you are using DMS for Planning, you may have configured the PLANNER role so that only one user can have that role for each area or group. In that case, to give other users - including other Planners - access to view those sites and orders in SiteConnect and NetworkConnect you must give them VIEW_OBJECT access to the site, area, or group. See [https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/UMNC/pages/2658205898](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/UMNC/pages/2658205898).
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ **If you are currently using DMS for planning, we recommend that you continue to do so for now rather than plan in SiteConnect or NetworkConnect.**

### Restricting Planner Access to the Logged in Planner

In DMS, when a planner is logged into an area or group only they have planner authority in that area or group. You can also restrict planner access in NetworkConnect and SiteConnect to that logged in planner.

To do this, in DMS configure PLANNER access to the group for [ALL PARTIES](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/UMNC/pages/1983774748/Adding+an+Authority+to+a+Role#How-do-I-Add-an-Authority-for-Anyone-with-a-Role%3F), not for individual planners. When a user logs in as a planner in DMS  or NetworkConnect and selects that area or group:

- They will have exclusive PLANNER access to that area or group.
- ALL PARTIES access to the area or group will **temporarily** be removed so other users will **not** have planner access to the group in SiteConnect or NetworkConnect (**unless** they also have individual planner access configured).