---
title: "Locking the System"
canonical: "https://docs.rubiconwater.com/space/UMNC/1985118258/Locking%20the%20System"
format: markdown
---
You can lock an authentication group to prevent any user from logging into applications within that authentication group. When the authentication group is locked, only users with the *System Administrator* role can log into an application in the group.

> ℹ️ **Example**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ You might use this option for example, when you are performing maintenance on the system.

> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ Locking users out from the Customer Applications group will also lock users out of CustomerConnect.

**Step 1**

In the Authentication Groups module select the authentication group that you want to lock.

**Step 2**

Click **Edit** to make the authentication group editable.

**Step 3**

In the **System Lockout Details** section, select the **System Lockout** checkbox.

**Step 4**

Enter a **System Lockout Message**.

> ℹ️ **Example**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ You might use the message to inform users that the system is locked, and to indicate when it will be available.

**Step 5**

Click **Save** to save your changes.

---