---
title: "Saving or Finalizing a Plan"
canonical: "https://docs.rubiconwater.com/space/PNC/2051867107/Saving%20or%20Finalizing%20a%20Plan"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (toc)

# Saving the Plan

Choose **Plan > Save** from the Planning Schematic menu to save your plan. This saves all your changes but does not make the planned orders confirmable. Orders will have a status of *Scheduled.*

**TIP**: Save your plan often! We recommend that you save your plan after planning each spur.

# What if there are over-capacity regulators?

By default you can’t finalise a plan that includes over-capacity regulators. You can change this behaviour by setting the **Plan Finalise if Over Capacity** parameter to *Yes*. In this case you’ll still receive a warning listing the over-capacity regulators but you’ll be able to go ahead and finalise the plan anyway.

# Finalising the Plan

Choose **Plan > Finalise** from the Planning Schematic menu to finalise your plan. This saves all your changes and makes all the orders confirmable. Orders will have a status of *Estimated*.

Depending on your planning configuration, you may not be able to finalise your plan if there are unlinked orders, or if there are over-capacity regulators.

You can re-open a finalised plan and make changes if necessary.

# Discarding the Plan

Choose **Plan > Refresh** from the Planning Schematic menu, or just close the Planning Schematic to discard your plan. This resets any links you have created and returns the orders to their *Requested* settings. You should only do this if you are unhappy with the plan and want to start fresh.

> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ Resetting the plan does not reverse any changes you made to attributes or authorities, and any cancelled orders will remain cancelled.

---