---
title: "Logging In and Out of a Planning Area"
canonical: "https://docs.rubiconwater.com/space/NWNC/2000978533/Logging%20In%20and%20Out%20of%20a%20Planning%20Area"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (toc)

When you log in to DMS as a planner, you are prompted to choose a planning area or group. You can log in as a planner if you have PLANNER authority for the system.

# Logging In

**Step 1**

Log in with your User Name and PIN (you do not need a PIN if you are using Windows authentication).

**Step 2**

If you have more than one role, select Planner and click **Accept**.

**Step 3**

Choose a Planning Area or Group from the drop-down list.

> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ The list includes all active planning areas or groups, except those to which a planner is already logged in.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ **If the planning area or group you need is not listed**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ If you are not given the option to log into the area or group you want, log in to a different area, or using a different role, and try these troubleshooting options:
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ - Make sure that the area or group you need is *Active*. See <u>[Setting a Planning Area Active](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/NWNC/pages/2000978569)</u> for details.
> ℹ️ - Make sure that nobody else is logged into the area or group you need, and release the area if necessary. See <u>[Releasing a Planning Area or Group](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/NWNC/pages/2000978611)</u>

**Step 4**

Enter a contact number.

> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ Clear the **Contactable** checkbox if you don't want to be contacted by customers.

**Step 5**

Clear the **Contactable** checkbox if you don't want to be contacted by customers.

# Logging out

Log out when you have finished planning. If you do not log out, nobody else can log in to the planning area or group. When you log out of DMS as a planner you are prompted to specify who should be the after hours contact for the planning area or group.

## Set an after-hours contact

At the prompt, select a planner to be the after-hours contact. By default, you will be the after-hours contact for the area or group. Click **OK** to confirm the choice.

---